# Meetings

Technical Program: A.H. Chen Registration: John Bumbalough Spouses Program: Betty Covey Finance: Don E. Banks Exhibits: Paul Gibson Publicity: Charles Williams Plant Trips: Richard D. O'Brien

## Kates to be cited

Dr. Morris Kates, professor of biochemistry at the University of Ottawa, will receive the 1984 Supelco AOCS Research Award during the AOCS annual meeting in Dallas.

Dr. Kates was cited for his work and discoveries over

# Congratulatory messages

The American Oil Chemists' Society has received congratulatory messages upon its 75th anniversary from several fats-and-oils related organizations around the world. These messages are reproduced starting on this page and on succeeding pages in this report on the annual meeting in Dallas. Translations are provided for messages from non-English speaking nations.

Thank you for your letter of October 21, 1983, and congratulations to you and AOCS on the occasion of its 75th anniversary.

The Society and its members on the occasion of the Thank you for your letter and the American Oil Chemiats' Society of the American Oil Chemiats' Society and Its members of NSPA, we salute and congratulate the American Oil Chemiats' Society and Its members on the occasion of its 75th anniversary.

The Society and its members can be proud of their significant accomplishments and continued service to America's oilseed processing industry over the past 75 years. It has played a singular role in contributing to the spectacular growth of the United States soybean processing industry.

We are pleased at the very close cooperation and relationship NSPA has enjoyed with AOCS during the past 55 years of NSPA's history and look forward to enhancing that relationship in the years to come.

more than a quarter of a century. His early work included the synthesis of L-α-lecithins and elucidation of the mode of action of phospholipase D and pancreatic lipase. His work has included an extensive study of the lipid component of extremely halophilic bacteria. Such organisms' unique physiology is related to their membrane, with Dr. Kates' research providing a foundation for studying the specialized biochemical adaption of cell membrane lipids to various metabolic processes. His most recent work has been on the relationship between the desaturase enzyme system and the control of cold-hardiness in wheat, and between membrane fluidity and content of arachidonic acid in animals cells.

During the 1940s, Kates was a student at the University of Toronto of the late Dr. Erich Baer, the first recipient of the AOCS Award in Lipid Chemistry. From 1949 until 1968, Dr. Kates was affiliated with Canada's National Research Council. In 1968, he joined the faculty at the University of Ottawa. He was named chairman of the department of biochemistry in 1982.

The Supelco AOCS Research Award will be presented during the plenary breakfast on Monday, April 30. The award consists of a plaque and an honorarium of \$3,000.

Dr. Kates is a fellow of the Chemical Institute of Canada and of the Royal Society of Canada. In 1974 he was appointed co-editor of the Canadian Journal of Biochemistry. In that year he also was elected president of the Ottawa Biological and Biochemical Society. He has served as a visiting professor in Europe and in Japan.

### 4 Honored Students selected

Four graduate students in the United States and Canada have been selected as 1984 AOCS Honored Student award recipients. The winners receive a grant from the AOCS to help defray their expenses at the annual meeting, where each will present a technical paper.

The 1984 recipients and their presentations are:

Ramiro O. Batres, Iowa State University, "Retinoic Acid and Prostaglandin E<sub>2</sub> Production by Human Skin Fibroplasts."

David T. Dudley, University of Iowa, "Cholinergic Stimulation of Phosphatidylinositol Turnover in Retinoplastoma Cells.

Kothapalli Ravi, University of Western Ontario, "Isolation and Characterization of Polyprenols from Seeds."

Lynette F. Walsh, Iowa State University, "Plasma Cholesterol and Lipoproteins and LDL Clearance in Miniature Swine Fed Fats and Proteins of Vegetable and Animal Origin."

## Ryan to receive Potts award

Thomas C. Ryan of Michigan State University has been chosen as recipient of the 1984 Ralph H. Potts Memorial Fellowship.